T20 Cricket News

Check out for Latest Cricket News, Specially T20 Cricket News!

The England women's selectors today named a provisional 20-strong squad for the World Twenty20 in the Caribbean which start in May.

England are currently on tour in India, where they have been beaten 3-2 in the ODI series which precedes a three-match Twenty20 series. Yet they will go to the Caribbean as defending champions and much is expected of the side.

The squad announced includes two uncapped players - Lauren Griffith and Susie Rowe - and will be cut to 14 on March 19, following a final meeting of the selection panel.

Clare Connor, head of England women's cricket, said: "There is real strength in depth to this squad and this is testament to the development of players at county level and within the England women's academy set-up.

"The 14 players eventually chosen will be faced with the exciting challenge of retaining the World Twenty20 following our victory in last year's tournament in England. The women's game continues to grow in popularity and we are delighted that the men's and women's semi-finals and finals will be played as double-headers in the Caribbean, just as they were in England in 2009."

Full Squad 1 Charlotte Edwards, 2 Caroline Atkins, 3 Tammy Beaumont, 4 Katherine Brunt, 5 Holly Colvin, 6 Lydia Greenway, 7 Lauren Griffith, 8 Isa Guha, 9 Jenny Gunn, 10 Danielle Hazell, 11 Heather Knight, 12 Laura Marsh, 13 Beth Morgan, 14 Ebony Rainford-Brent, 15 Susie Rowe, 16 Nicky Shaw, 17 Anya Shrubsole, 18 Claire Taylor, 19 Sarah Taylor, 20 Danielle Wyatt.

News Source


0 Response for the "England women announce World Twenty20 squad"

Post a Comment

Share and Bookmarks